New to Arduino, Need Help Coding

Hello! I’m brand new to the Arduino, and I know nothing about C++. I’m trying to build something like a Theremin (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Theremin). What I have hooked up is a Light sensor, a buzzer, and the main board. I’m not sure if its hooked up right because they both need the - output from the main baord so i’m just splitting it.

I’ve combined two sketches in an attempt to make the buzzer play different sounds when the light sensor gives in different data, as it is stored as a number. Here’s my

int ledPin = 13; // LED is connected to digital pin 13 
int sensorPin = 0; // light sensor is connected to analog pin 0 
int sensorValue; // variable to store the value coming from the sensor 
int speakerPin = 9; // speaker connected to digital pin 9 

void setup()    
{   
         pinMode(ledPin, OUTPUT); // sets the ledPin to be an output 
         Serial.begin(9600); //initialize the serial port 
         digitalWrite(ledPin, HIGH); // turn the LED on 
         pinMode(speakerPin, OUTPUT); // sets the speakerPin to be an output 
}    

void loop()  // run over and over again  
{    
          sensorValue = analogRead(sensorPin); // read the value from the sensor 
          Serial.println(sensorValue); // send that value to the computer 
          delay(1000); // delay for 1/10 of a second 
}     

void beep (unsigned char speakerPin, int frequencyInHertz, long timeInMilliseconds)     // the sound producing function  
{    
          int x;   
          long delayAmount = (long)(1000000/frequencyInHertz); 
          long loopTime = (long)((timeInMilliseconds*1000)/(delayAmount*2)); 
          for (x=0;x<loopTime;x++)   
          {   
              digitalWrite(speakerPin,HIGH); 
              delayMicroseconds(delayAmount); 
              digitalWrite(speakerPin,LOW); 
              delayMicroseconds(delayAmount); 
          }   

}     

void scale () 
{    
          digitalWrite(ledPin,HIGH); //turn on the LED