New to Arduino Project Question

Hi all,

I'm very new to the world of Arduino but very interested. I'm wanting to start a project but wanted to see where I could find some basic information on limitations (white paper or FAQ) with Arduino hardware and programming.

Specifically, for this project, I want to know if I can variably adjust voltage output based on an input... (ie.... Input=1 therefore Output=10, input=2 therefore Output=20). I'm hoping to adjust the voltage for a motor based on an input value... if it can be done, that's all I need to know and I'll figure out the rest or at least, get more specific with programming questions.

Cheers and thanks all, really digging this stuff...

-Dray

Hi!
Nice to see a new member exploring the Arduino world. There’s lots of fun but also quite some things to learn.
One good way to start is to buy one of those kits containg several sensors and guided examples “how to do it”.

Producing an analog voltage is not so easy. For controlling things like moros, DC motors, PWM is used. That stands for Pulse Width Modulation. That means that the controller is pulsing out full power during a short piece of time. It’s very effektive in order to awoid hot driver/power stages.
Give us data about the motor, voltage, max current etc, Then we can give You more precise advice.

I'm wanting to start a project but wanted to see where I could find some basic information on limitations (white paper or FAQ) with Arduino hardware and programming.

Your best bet is to search for what you want to do. For example you can search for:-
Arduino motor speed control.
And that will bring up a load of hits. The main problem is that there are lots of different kinds of Arduino making some of them more suited to some tasks than others.