New to Arduino - some observations

So I'm a long time maker/hobbyist using the zbasic platform but came to Arduino as I needed more speed for a particular project. I was a paid developer 30+ years ago when the world was simpler, and now just dabble as a hobby.

Some observations on Arduino and it's environment which may or may not ring true with others, or people could offer some guidance on.

1. tab stops in the ide. I'm used to tab stops behaving properly. The default ide behaviour is to expand tab stops to spaces, which works but misses the point. I have tried turning expand tabs off and tab size to 8 characters (the correct value) but the formatting is all over the place. Each time I open my project it looks different. Lines of code have randomly moved left or right when they used to line up. Once you've used an editor that implements tab stops properly there is no going back - unless you have to :frowning:

2. i want to write reusable functions, and libraries are probably the answer here, but it's not as convenient as using tabs in the IDE as you can't see the library code so readily and you can't easily amend it. But if you use code tabs, the code has to reside in the project folder. If there was an option to specify a location, one could create a folder of reusable code and include it as wanted.

3. when you build a project, the compiler tries to compile everything in the project folder regardless of whether it is used or included in the project. I believe it does this as there is no mechanism/file to tell the project which modules to use (i can't find a project file specifying which modules are used etc). It doesn't seem sensible.

4. Function prototypes - the ide has a go at inserting these but is tripped up pretty easily. seems to be a long standing issue. Is there an option to turn off prototyping so I know I have to do it all myself ?