*New to Arduino* where to get started on my LED project

Hey all! I am a lighting designer and I have come upon Arduino as a possible solution for my project. I am creating a lightbox where the frequency of the light and the wavelength of the light within the box can be specifically controlled for a scientific experiment. When looking for a product to control the frequency someone pointed me toward Arduino and then I got a little overwhelmed. I don't really know where to get started.

Any and all help would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks in advance!

I am creating a lightbox where the frequency of the light and the wavelength of the light within the box can be specifically controlled for a scientific experiment.

The frequency and wavelength of light are not independent propitiates, you can't change one without the other changing.

I know of no system that will allow you to change the frequency / wavelength of light produced. The nearest I could think of is to have a bright light pass through a prism and then a motorised slot will allow a small range of light through.

I am a lighting designer

Makes me wonder if you are asking for the right thing? Have you no Physics background?

Perhaps "intensity" (brightness) and "frequency" (color) were meant. WS2812B might be a good place to start, where mixing the RGB can produce different colors, and the 8-bit PWM output of each can also control brightness.

I think we need to know more about this "scientific experiment".

Wouldn't hurt.

Hey all

So yes I mean controlling the frequency of my RGB LED tape light and setting it to a certain frequency using pwm. I realize that the two factors might affect each other which is why the wave length would have to be measured at each point.