New to Arduino

Hi all,

I'm new to Arduino. For my first project I want to make my light switch on and off with a clapper.

What will I need to buy for this project, and also is there any current guides I could use?

I was also checking out Arduino's in a store, they didn't seem to come with a USB wire to connect/code to my laptop. Is this needed? If so, should it come with the Arduino or do they sell them separately.

Can I also code a Arduino with Embedded C? Or is it just any other type of C/language?

The Arduino Uno and Mega use a standard USB cable to connect to a PC. You probably already have one at home. If not they are widely available.

The Arduino is programmed in C++ and the Arduino IDE takes care of a lot of the background housekeeping to make programming very easy. You should download the Arduino IDE onto your PC and then you can study the many example programs. You don't need an Arduino to write and compile programs. Of course you do need an Arduino to run the programs and test your code.

What is a clapper?

...R

The basic concept of the Arduino clapper is in several online searches… as a newbie w/ Arduino you will need to familiarize yourself with Google Search.

This is a representative version:

and Instructables has a few… remember, Google first.

I would only ask that you enlist the assistance of someone with AC electrical knowledge to assist you with the connections between the relay/SCR and the lamp/receptacle , etc. This is NOT a time to venture out and attempt to muck with AC… it will kill you, start a fire, or both.

I was also checking out Arduino’s in a store, they didn’t seem to come with a USB wire to connect/code to my laptop. Is this needed?

If you want to program the Arduino from the USB port on your PC, then you need to buy a cable.

Can I also code a Arduino with Embedded C? Or is it just any other type of C/language?