New to everything. Simple question about Resistors in my Arduino kit

Hi I am new to everything that has to do with Arduino and electronics.

I bought the Arduino starter kit, and have completed project 1 , but i have a question about the pack of resistors the kit came with.

1.) I noticed that the resistors have really long straight legs which I found odd because would it not be easier if they came bent already to be able to fit in the breadboard more easily ?

2.) So I assume I have to bend the resistor legs myself, so they fit in the breadboard holes, but how do I know that the resistor is actually correctly in the breadboard ? because the legs are so long and all the pictures in the project book show the resistor completely 100 percent in the breadboard with no legs showing ? When I put the resistor in , I do not hear or feel any 'click' to make me know that it is in properly , and the legs itself seem way to unnecessarily long ?

The legs are long because they are stock resistors. It would be expensive to get resistors pre-bent and with custom length leads. Besides, what length? Sometimes that length is might convenient in terms of saving you a wire. Cut them to length and bend them yourself.

As long as the pin is fully inserted, it doesn't matter if part of it is exposed because the pin is longer than the depth of the holes in the breadboard

Being sure that a connection to a breadboard is making good contact is tricky. I don't use breadboard for that reason - I solder everything onto protoboard, and the time I save debugging loose wires pays for the components I don't reuse. Of course, since I sell protoboard, I get it a little cheaper.

Every time anyone shows me something they made on breadboard, it takes them like ten minutes to find the loose connections (while I make fun of them).

That's the way resistors are manufactured & sold. The legs are normally cut to fit, but for temporary-experimental-breadboard use you may want to leave them long.