New to programming and Arduino. Would like someone with experience to grade me.

Hi guys, noob here. just trying to teach myself how to code. This is my first attempt at completely coding something from scratch.

Basically Ive got a circuit hooked up with a button, potentiometer, photoresistor, red led, white led, and a blue led. When you hold down the button the lights will blink. The blink speed is controlled by the potentiometer. you can also get the lights to blink my covering the photoresistor.

However, im not sure if its my code thats messed up or my circuit. If anyone would like to look over my code and give me some pointers or easier ways to do things. Any help or tips would be greatly appreciated. Mostly just want to make sure im not starting bad habits early on. If you see any redundant code or simpler wasy of doing something, please feel free to let me know.

Thanks.

int redLedPin=6;                 //Set Red LED
int whiteLedPin=7;              //Set White LED
int blueLedPin=10;             //Set Blue LED
int potPin=A0;                //Set Pot Pin
int photoPin=A1;
int button=7;               //Set button pin
int photoReading;
int potReading;           //raw value from pot
int mapped;              //mapped value from pot
boolean buttonState;    // name for button state(true or false)
int blinkTime=150;     // my mapped value, its easier to change it here
int photoSet=20;      // Set where you want the Photo sensor to turn lights on here.

void setup() {
 Serial.begin(9600);                  //begin serial monitor
 pinMode(redLedPin, OUTPUT);         //set red LED pin as output
 pinMode(whiteLedPin, OUTPUT);      //set white LED pin as output
 pinMode(blueLedPin, OUTPUT);      //set blue LED pin as output
 pinMode(potPin, INPUT);          //set potPin as input
 pinMode(button, INPUT);         //set button pin as input
 pinMode(photoPin, INPUT);

}

void loop() {
  potReading=(analogRead(potPin));                          // Getting pot ready