New to Serial Communication. Help?

Hello, Don't know if its the right place to post this or not... so i have never worked on serial comm.. just know the theoretical difference between serial and parallel comm.. but very keen to start learning serial comm now, so help me in its start.. What to study for beginning it... BASICS.....?????????????

The basics is that

Serial Parallel
Send the bits of the number/characters one bit at a time Send all the bits simultaenously.
Requires only one wire (plus ground) Requires at least as many wires as you want to send bits
More wires used for clock and flow control in some systems Also may use some extra wires for flow, clock, reset
. Several "Parallel words" will then be sent serially
RS232, SATA, Arduino TX/RX, USB, Ethernet LPT interface, IDE-disk interface

(edit added a bit about multiple parallel words)

Serial just means that only one side can talk at a time. Parallel means that both sides can talk at the same time.

Thanks alot, i studied and got some start in my mind... so i'm happy with that.. Now i wan't to implement it physically :wink:
But i wan't to ask that what stuff (available easily and cheaply) can have serial comm so i can practice with that???

by the way, i have “serial data cable” of my simple nokia old model mobile, i just cut that cable from the side connected to mobile, and left the other side that can be connected to serial port of PC, so from mobile side of cable i got 3 wires, i think they may be RX,TX and ground?? thats what i think :roll_eyes:
So my question is this that can i connect that cable b/w PC and my arduino RX/TX and ground?? What data i can transfer serially???

"Serial just means that only one side can talk at a time. Parallel means that both sides can talk at the same time."
That sounds more like a comparison of half-duplex vs full-duplex.

"the other side that can be connected to serial port of PC, so from mobile side of cable i got 3 wires, i think they may be RX,TX and ground?? "