new to this stuff and confused...

Im new to Arduino...javascript:void(0);

So i need some help figuring out what im going to need to build the device i want...

The goal is a simple lighting controller for my fish tank. I dont need all the added stuff like some people have...

I need to control 6 things and i assume they are like channels? So CH 1 Fan CH 2 Florescent Light #1 CH 3 Metal Halide #1 CH 4 Metal Halide #2 CH 5 Night Time LED CH 6 Florescent Light #2

Now i know that this is really simple to do but im not sure what all is involved can someone help me

Thanks

Matt

You really don't need an arduino just get 1 power source and 6 on/off switches. connect all the things to the power supply and put switches in between them. If you want it to be automatic replace the switches with timers... karma?

Yoy may want to get a relay board like below and have the arduino control it.

http://www.electronickits.com/kit/complete/elec/ck1601.htm

Carnyworld:
You really don’t need an arduino just get 1 power source and 6 on/off switches. connect all the things to the power supply and put switches in between them. If you want it to be automatic replace the switches with timers… karma?

I currently use timers and they are a PIA to deal with and keep set, and if there is a power outage well thats a entire new story… they are bulky and obsolete…

zoomkat:
Yoy may want to get a relay board like below and have the arduino control it.

http://www.electronickits.com/kit/complete/elec/ck1601.htm

This Is Awesome, I saw this on and liked the idea, the question now is what Arduino should i get and how should i set it up??

http://cgi.ebay.com/Eight-8-Relay-Board-AVR-PIC-Arduino-DSP-8051-5V-/110638270391?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item19c28e07b7

By the looks of it, it can probably be controlled by a Duemilanove or Uno. I would power it via usb or usb wall plug since it requires 5v.