New User: Truck-to-PC module

Hey everyone! I've been very impressed with the power and capabilities of the Arduino since I first discovered it's existence via Hack-a-Day.

I am new to micro-controllers and have only done minor tinkering and small projects. I feel very comfortable with this though, as it seems pretty user-friendly and I am fairly good at programming (Learn pretty fast and have messed with the most common languages)

Anyways, to the point - I recently installed a Carputer in my truck and wanted to put something together to allow the computer to interact with the truck. Nothing too extravagant but I wanted to retain my stock steering wheel controls. They output on a single wire which reads different resistance values depending on which button is pressed. (Each button has a different value resistor connected to it)

I need a way to take that output and get it to my computer. Once the computer receives an identifiable command from the controls, I can program something to take care of it from there... Just getting it there is my problem but I'm sure the Arduino can handle this easily.

I also want to be able to control my windows, locks, engine start, pull OBDII codes, etc etc. I don't have a set list of everything I want to do just yet but I just wanted to make sure that I am investing in the correct board. I was thinking that either the "Pro 328" or the "Duemilanove" would work? Maybe even the Pro Mini?

Just wanted to get a little insight and make sure I'm on the right path.

Thanks everyone!

As a beginner, start out with a stock Duemilanove (w/ 328 - I don't think they come with 168s any more, but just be sure), work thru the examples, etc.