Newb Getting Started : which kit - if any!?!

Hi,

I'm pretty "stoked" (okay, not normally language I'd use) about the possibilities of this modular platform and would like to take the plunge.

I'm really a software engineer (with commercial games programming experience in C / C++) and am not used, per se, to embedded systems. However, I suspect like most of you, I have created an increasing number of entries in a file called "ideas", all of which are crying out for the arduino treatment.

So I'm looking for something to ease me into the development environment and the whole arduino / embedded systems world. The question is, would the good folk here suggest I start with a kit, or perhaps plump for a dedicated guide book, or perhaps just buy a collection of components and use the web : if you were starting out as a software guy, what would you do?

As a guide, I'd like to make progress towards building a system that can control the viscosity of a liquid by heating it. This will be the first step into piping / extruding / drawing (not sure which) fibres of a given diameter (yep, it don't walk, but it ain't unambitious ;D ).

All and any advice very much appreciated.

There are quite a few Arduino starte packs available.

They come with an Arduino board, a good assortment of often used components, frequently also a small bradboard, and maybee a small motor + more.

Some of the starte packs have printed “project books”, some have online books.

Try to google “Arduino starter pack”, or soemthin like “Arduino experimenter”

Earthshine has a nice starter kit and a nice tutorial with it to get you started.

http://www.earthshineelectronics.com/

It will get you on your started after which you can start making your own things.

Here's one

http://www.solarbotics.com/products/ardx/

Here's a run down on a few of them (sligthly dated)

http://aaroneiche.com/2009/06/29/arduino-starter-rundown/