Newb Help

I want to create a watch that has a binary display for the time and date. I was wondering what would be the best board to use to create a compact and light watch that will draw minimal power. I don't want to have to charge this watch every night. I was also thinking possibly some wireless interaction where it will poll for a connection and update the time. I'm extremely new to this but I'm not afraid of the programming aspect. I just want to know exactly what is needed for a noob to pull this off. I've seen a couple of projects but nothing specifically what I want.

Thanks for any help :]

You should probably figure out the coding and hardware requirements for a larger device, first. When that works, you can determine how to miniaturize it.

Hour ranges from 0 to 23 (or 0 to 11 if you have AM/PM indicator). That will need 6 LEDs.

Minute ranges from from 0 to 59. That will require 7 LEDs.

Second ranges from 0 to 59. That will require 7 LEDs.

That is between 13 and 20 LEDs. The Arduino has 20 digital pins (2 of which are for the serial connection, if you are using that (and you will for debugging and uploading sketches, most likely).

I was also thinking possibly some wireless interaction where it will poll for a connection and update the time.

Poll what? Wireless and long battery life (especially in watch size) are not compatible concepts.

I just want to know exactly what is needed for a noob to pull this off.

By the time you are done, you won't be a noob, that's for sure.

A small LED matrix display that you scan would not need so many pins. Like: http://www.sparkfun.com/products/681

Other: LEDs take a lot more power than LCDs.

Some early LED watches saved power by blanking the display until you shook your hand...

Or maybe use a small graphics display instead?
http://store.nkcelectronics.com/rgb-lcd-65k-color-module-philips-pcf8833-comp658833.html
I picked up one of these, haven’t tried doing anything with it yet.