Newb project - 'Autocom' homebrew

Hi all, This is my first project using an Arduino and am rather excited.

I am working my way through all the literature/posts/pages to work out how to do this, but though I'd see if anyone else has done something similar or has any suggestions...

I have a motorbike and would like to use both a radio and my iphone with my helmet mic/speaker kit.

Basically, I need to get something together to allow me to switch between the 2 devices, and use the PTT button I have with my helmet kit as either the 'answer/hangup my phone' button, or a PTT button for the radio.

To make things a little more exciting, I'd like to program it up so when in 'radio mode', I can press the button once quickly to 'lock on', or press and hold to lock on until the buttong is released.

I have 1 x Uno, and also bought a cheeky LCD screen so might intergrate that in some way, but that was more of an impulse buy than anything else :P

Anyway, any ideas that might help me on my way to arduino glory is appreciated, if not, please take this as my official 'Hello!' to the Arduino community.

Big thanks in advance!

B

I have one suggestion. Don't.

There are reasons why hand-held cell phone is illegal in many states. The laws are addressing a symptom, not the problem. The problem is that talking on the phone uses more resources than many people realize, leaving too few resources to operate the vehicle.

With a motorcycle, the demands on the rider are even higher. So, shut up and ride. Call when you get there, or before you leave.

With a motorcycle, the demands on the rider are even higher. So, shut up and ride. Call when you get there, or before you leave.

There are two types of motorcycle riders, those that have been down, and those that are going to go down. Been there, done that.

I've ridden over 450,000 miles in the last 18 years. I wouldn't even think about trying to talk on the phone while riding.