Newbie, cannot get switches to work.

I am a high school student trying to set up some switches to work with the arduino. Unfortunately they refused to cooperate, so we set it up to graph two analog inputs. It seems that when one switch is on, the other inputs all get 50% more voltage, for instance if one and two are plugged in and three is turned on, one and two register 2.5 volts, and if 4 is turned on too it registers 3.75 volts. Below is the diagram of the circuit.

Red is the number of the switch and blue is the input.

Oddly enough, this one, which we use for our first input, works fine and is wired the same way, while the other switches are like this and do not work.

I don’t think I soldered it up wrong, but I can’t figure out why it won’t work.

As drawn in your posting they should work just fine, with no interaction between switches. Are you sure you wired them up as you have drawn them?

Have you maybe by accident turned on internal pull-ups on your digital input pins? Also pins 0 & 1 also wire to the FTDI serial chip so there might be voltages on those pins interacting with your external pull down resistors?

Lefty

I've gone over them so many times, I am 99% sure they are done like the diagram. As for the pull ups, I don't know. I haven't been the one programming it, but I don't think we are using pull ups, I'll check tomorrow. I do know we haven't been using digital 0 or 1.

Actually, I think I may have the 2nd to last resistor wired on the ground rather than before it... That would do it. I'll check tomorrow and hopefully come back to explain how dumb I am. If its not that, I think there's something going on with the toggles.

It took me a few times of messing up before I got used to using the switches!

Here's some examples for setting up a pull-down resistor on them, this includes pictures so you can check your own: http://www.arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/Button http://www.ladyada.net/learn/arduino/lesson5.html