newbie Crash

Howdy all,

I'm a newbie to Arduino, and have run into a problem that I'm hoping you wonderful folks out there might be able to help me solve.

I'm trying to read values from 2 sensors, then send a string out that I can read in Serial Monitor.

This code snippet works just fine :

String r; r=String(millis()); r+= ":A5:"; Serial.print(r); serialPrintFloat(lightSensorValue); Serial.println(" ");

so does this one :

String s; s=String(millis()); s+= ":A0:"; Serial.print(s); serialPrintFloat(degC); Serial.println(" ");

Both of these snippets spew out data continuously quite happily to the serial monitor.

However, when I combine them as shown in the function below, I only see the first 2 readings (1 from each sensor) in the serial monitor, then nothing! I'm guessing Arduino has crashed, but have no idea why.

Any thoughts are greatly appreaciated.

Thanks in advance,

Melbfella.

The complete code :

int temperatureSensorPin = 0; //temperature sensor is connected to analog pin 0 int temperatureValue; // variable to store the value coming from the temp sensor

int lightSensorPin = 5; // light sensor is connected to analog pin 5 int lightSensorValue; // variable to store the value coming from the light sensor

void setup(){ Serial.begin(9600); }

void loop() {

temperatureValue = analogRead(temperatureSensorPin); lightSensorValue = analogRead(lightSensorPin); // read the value from the sensor

float degC=temperatureValue/2.01;

String s; s=String(millis()); s+= ":A0:"; Serial.print(s); serialPrintFloat(degC); Serial.println(" ");

String r; r=String(millis()); r+= ":A5:"; Serial.print(r); serialPrintFloat(lightSensorValue); Serial.println(" ");

delay(1000);

}

void serialPrintFloat( float f){ Serial.print((int)f); Serial.print("."); int temp = (f - (int)f) * 100; //Serial.println( abs(temp) ); Serial.print( abs(temp) ); }

Two things:

1. Strings. Just.... no. Strings are evil.
  2. Serial.print will do most of the work for you.