Newbie first project.

I want to create a haptic experience to go along with my 3d animated vr movies.
The videos aren't interactive so I basically just want to hook up some motors and create a sequence that will be synced with the movie. I've never tried this before but I'm guessing the easiest way to do this is by making the whole thing start running with a queue to the sound sensor.
I'll probably use a stepper motor and a few vibration motors.
I was just about to buy the elegoo complete starter kit on Amazon but I thought I better ask and make sure my plan makes sense. I think all I need other then the kit is some vibration motors (I don't think it comes with any).

Yes, buy the Elgoo starter kit and go through connecting the kit sensors and running the example sketches (what Arduinolings call programs).

Once you are comfortable with the IDE and example programs, start pushing your knowledge outside of the examples.

Synching with the movie would likely take more memory than any Arduino board can supply. You need to develop an algorithm to read sound v silence periods that you program in advance. Then if you make a simple edit on your movie, you're screwed. You have to figure out how to inject that edit into your hepatic track.

I can imagine an Arduino would work fine to take an analog input either from the speaker or a microphone and amplifier to drive a vibrator motor proportional to the level of sound. You could filter the sound to respond only to lower frequency energy or very high levels.

Note, the Arduino output pins are limited to how much current they can safely provide to things like the vibrator motor. LEDs are fine as they only draw on average, 20ma, but a motor could easily draw 50-100ma which the Arduino can't provide. For this you need a logic level MOSFET transistor like the 2N7000.

Thanks for the reply. I ordered the kit so I better start watching some videos.