NEWBIE -HELP

Ok…just got into this Arduino stuff, so please bare with me. I plug in my Arduino Nano, v3.0, ATMega328 to my MAc, running OS 10.10.1. And the nano is flashing the “L” led and the PWR led is solid red. Try to upload a sample .ino file and NOTHING HAPPENS, except error codes.

Also tried to use a Windows PC, and same thing…

Again, i am a newbie to all of this, so anyone who can hold my hand and guide is greatly appreciated.

Without knowing what errors you get, we cannot help.

Weedpharma

Here is one error

Build options changed, rebuilding all

Sketch uses 16,540 bytes (53%) of program storage space. Maximum is 30,720 bytes.
Global variables use 39 bytes (1%) of dynamic memory, leaving 2,009 bytes for local variables. Maximum is 2,048 bytes.
avrdude: stk500_recv(): programmer is not responding
avrdude: stk500_getsync() attempt 1 of 10: not in sync: resp=0x00
avrdude: stk500_getsync() attempt 2 of 10: not in sync: resp=0x00
avrdude: stk500_getsync() attempt 3 of 10: not in sync: resp=0x00
avrdude: stk500_getsync() attempt 4 of 10: not in sync: resp=0x00
avrdude: stk500_getsync() attempt 5 of 10: not in sync: resp=0x00
avrdude: stk500_getsync() attempt 6 of 10: not in sync: resp=0x00

Again, I am new to all of this, I was told all I had to do was upload the codes, which I have 3 different ones from 3 different people and they all say the same error codes. But when I do the examples, it all works.

BUT..I dont get a green light, nor a blue one, all I get is the flashing "L" light and the solid red "PWR" light.

Do you mean that if you load a simple program like Blink, it works ok?

Weedpharma

Sorry about that - too soon on the post button.

Step 1 Read the tutorials before being tempted to plug in

Step 2 I'm no expert, but your error codes might suggest a port/board setting wrong - the sketch is compiling but the upload is failing