Newbie - How to choose and connect a heating wire

Hi all !

I'm a newbie in electronic and I've a project about creating a heating cap to protect myself during the winter since I work a lot in the cold. I need to insert a heating wire in my cap and control his power in order to give me a nice warm feeling.

Since I don't really want to burn myself (not so funny...) and the wires I'm finding are primarly used to cut foam... I'd like to have some advice about it.

And finally, how should I connect it to the Duino ? I thought through a MOSFET could be ideal though I want a regulation. Do I need some additional resistor ?

Thanks for reading me,

(Sorry if my english sucks, I'm french)

Do I need some additional resistor ?

No.

I thought through a MOSFET could be ideal though I want a regulation.

Yes it is. Use a PWM pin to drive it to achieve regulation.

the wires I’m finding are primarly used to cut foam.

Use the same sort of wire but use longer lengths so that for a given voltages there is less current. This is a nickel chrome alloy called NiChrome, and you can not solder it so you will have to use screw connectors to wire it up.

(Sorry if my English sucks, I'm French)

Your English is a damn sight better than the English of some people on here whose first language is English!

You might want to look at ductable textiles, too, as these are washable and wont break as easy as wire. Or use very thin wire spun to one thick rope instead of using one thick wire.

I have no idea what it’s going to take or how big of a battery you’ll need. You’ll probably need a fairly large battery and a battery that would last all day would probably be impractically large.

But, I can give you some “basic electronics” if you don’t already know.

[u]Ohm’s Law[/u] describes the relationship between voltage, current, and resistance. (Current = Voltage/Resistance)