Newbie :) 'if' help

Hi guys, got my self an arduino the other day :) ive just been going through the beginner tutorials and sketches and learning all the basics, i started learning about 'if' statements and thought i could try and use one to turn two led's one and off by modifying the blink example, for example i had one led running as a normal blink but then used the second led in the if statement to do the opposite of what led 1 does. But for some reason it wont work, its probably something obvious, led 1 blinks fine but led 2 just stays off. ill add the sketch sorry if its messy, onty had it three days :P Thanks! (sorry i dont know how to add the sketch properly)

int ledPin1 = 5; int ledPin2 = 7;

void setup() {

pinMode(ledPin1, OUTPUT); pinMode(ledPin2, OUTPUT); }

void loop() { int ledPin1value = digitalRead(ledPin1); digitalWrite(ledPin1, HIGH); delay(1000); digitalWrite(ledPin1, LOW); delay(1000);

if (ledPin1value = HIGH) { digitalWrite(ledPin2, LOW); } else { digitalWrite(ledPin2, HIGH);

}

}

I understand what your trying to do buts its allot easier to just do this.

BTW code is added using the # button in the message edit field.

int ledPin1 =  5;  
int ledPin2 = 7;

void setup()   {                

pinMode(ledPin1, OUTPUT);  
pinMode(ledPin2, OUTPUT);  
}

void loop()                    
{
 int ledPin1value = digitalRead(ledPin1);
 digitalWrite(ledPin1, HIGH);
 digitalWrite(ledPin2, LOW);  
 delay(1000);                  
 digitalWrite(ledPin1, LOW); 
 digitalWrite(ledPin2, HIGH);

delay(1000);

}

But the problem with your code is you need '==' not one '='.

To expand on digimike's explanation:

The "=" operator is what is known as the assignment operator; it assigns a value to a variable. The "==" operator is known as a comparison operator (it is one of many); in this case the comparison is for equality.

Comparison operators also have a couple of caveats (IIRC) in C: