Newbie in need of some basic help

Hello, I am new to the forum and this is my first post, hopefully I have put it in the correct section.

I am also new to Arduino, although I used to be very good at Visual Basic coding (about 10

years ago!).

My first project is causing me some problems, so after two weeks of trying I think that it

is time to ask for some help as I seem to be missing something.

My project is as follows - it is the relatively common fuel flow measurement problem where

I have two flow sensors, one in the fuel line to the engine and one in the return line to

the tank. Each sensor is connected using a transistor to the Arduino Uno digital pins.

I need to subtract the return pulse from the flow pulse and send a pulse from the Arduino

to show the amount of fuel used by the engine. The output pulses will then be sent to a

MPGuino where I can use it as the injector input.

I have sent up a test rig with two square wave signal generators feeding into digital pins

2 and 3 and the output is from Pin 4. I have frequency counters connected to all of the

three pins.

The code ( version number 30 or so !)

volatile int Count = 0; // holds the number of pulses to send to MPGuino
volatile int flowCount = 0; // holds pulses to the engine
volatile int returnCount = 0; // holds the pulses from the engine.

void setup()  
{
  pinMode(2, INPUT);  //Pin 2 to input pulses from "FLOW" sensor
  pinMode(3, INPUT);  // Pin 3 for "RETURN" pulses
  pinMode(4, OUTPUT); // Output pulses (Flow minus Return)
  pinMode(13, OUTPUT); 
  digitalWrite(13, HIGH); // LED off
  attachInterrupt(digitalPinToInterrupt(2), ISR_FLOW, LOW);  
  // interrupt 0 digital pin 2 FLOW
  attachInterrupt(digitalPinToInterrupt(3), ISR_RETURN, LOW); 
  // interrupt 1 digital pin 3 RETURN
}

void loop() 
{
noInterrupts(); // Switch off interuupts while calculating
  Count = flowCount - returnCount;

if (Count >= 1) // This is the only way I can get an output
    {
    Count = 1;
    }

else
    {