Newbie LED lightup sequence help

Hi all,

I’m fairly new to Arduinos but have been spending the last few weeks reading countless articles and watching a number of videos online about them in an effort to work out whether I can achieve the following.

Basically the idea is to come up with a way of turning on a maximum of 10 LEDs one at a time by a single momentary push switch but there are several caveats:

1. The first 9 LEDs need to have a toggle switch connected to each one but the last LED does not need one – the idea is at least one of the LEDs will turn on.

2. When the momentary switch is pressed for the first time the first LED should turn on but only if the toggle switch connected to it is on.

3. If the toggle switch for the first LED is off then the programme should move on to the next LED in the sequence and apply the same logic.

4. If the toggle switch is on then the LED connected to it should turn on. The programme should then wait for the next time the momentary switch is pressed.

5. When the momentary switch is next pressed it should identify the last LED that was turned on and check the next LED in the sequence in the same way as described in point 3.

6. After the tenth and last LED is turned on there should be a short delay where all the activated LEDs then turn off. This would be the end of the programme.

Where I’ve said above about the toggle switches it will usually be the first few in the sequence that may be off and the rest will be on, there will never be a situation where the switches are alternately on and off, two on and next two off etc.

Hopefully this makes sense; I haven’t acquired an Arduino yet as I wanted to be sure this was entirely within the realms of possibility in setting up beforehand before committing myself. Having said that though I have many other things besides the above that I would like to try out so I will likely get one anyway.

Many thanks in advance.

Alan

LEDs need to have a toggle switch connected to each one