Newbie looking for clarification.

Hi all,

First post, and complete newbie, so I apologise if it's the same stuff you get asked all day long.

I'm after a little advice / clarification if possible.
The project I have in mind is a 4 motor watch winder.

The idea came after seeing a couple of smart looking home brew builds, and refusing to spend £120 on a cheap eBay one that is guaranteed to fail after a month.

I'm a complete Arduino novice, but not new to circuit building or the technical side of it.

I'm trying not to run before I can walk, but I've got an idea of what I want for my end goal and after research and seeing other builds I settled on Arduino as the solution.

The idea is as follows.

4 Stepper motors, each programmed to run a slightly different cycle.
Either activated by a button per motor (or a selector dial and a single button would be great)
a GPS receiver, to pick up a time/date feed and display via a 2 line display.
(The display may also be used to show watch data such as rotation speed, time of cycle remaining but that's not as important)

So before I actually open my wallet, am I best off going straight for a Mega for the extra connections, or will the Uno with a motor shield run everything I'm looking to use?

I've tried looking into it, but nobody seems to have a straight yes/no answer.
Several similar projects have either used 2 boards together I2C (seen with both 2x Uno and 1x Uno and 1x Mega) but with lots more features that I don't need, or they use 1 Uno and only run 1 motor.

Any advice / clarification is greatly appreciated.