newbie, need critique/suggestions for clock code

First off, a quick background on myself: I have just started using arduino, but I have a diploma in Electronics Engineering Technology and work with electronics everyday (though more troubleshooting than design).

My first project is a 24 LED clock using the Solarbotics Freeduino SB board, an Atmel ATmega168 and four 74HC595 shift registers. So far I have the circuit wired up and decent code to run the 595's, but I can't get an overly accurate clock.

Currently, I'm using the MsTimer2 library to set a second flag variable every 1 second (using the timer2 interrupt I think?). The main program sits and waits for this flag, then increments the time, clears the flag and starts waiting again. I think this should work, because there is no chance that my main program will ever take more than a second to run. I know this may cause the seconds to not always update at the exact same time, but in the long-run the time should be right.

At first I had all the code that is now in the "loop" section under the timeInc interrupt funtion, but it was very inaccurate. It got alot better when I cut the interupt code down as much as possible, but still after running for only a couple of hours, the time is over a second fast when compared to the time on my PC.

Is there anyway to get more accurate timing without anything drastic?

int secTime = 0;
int minTime = 0;
int hourTime = 0;
boolean secFlag = 0; //second flag

void timeInc() {

secFlag = true; //set second flag to tell main program that 1 second
                        //has occured    
}

void setup() {
  Serial.begin(9600); 

pinMode(13, OUTPUT);
  MsTimer2::set(1000, timeInc);  //setup MsTimer2 to run every 1 second
  MsTimer2::start();
}

void loop() {

//main program basically waits until a second has passed, then 
  //increments the time accordingly

if(secFlag){
    if(secTime == 59){
        secTime = 0;

if(minTime == 59){
            minTime = 0;

if(hourTime == 11){