Newbie problem with library

I am a newbie and totally confused with the importing of libraries.
I wanted to include the library ESP8266WiFi.

I am using the online Ardiuno editor.
I downloaded the file from Gitgub but I cant find it in the Library Manager.

Its in my downloads but when I search for it it doesn’t show up.

What I am doing wrong?
Many thanks
David

Switch to the (normal) local version of the IDE. There you can import it :slight_smile:

Herrid:
I am a newbie and totally confused with the importing of libraries.
I wanted to include the library ESP8266WiFi.

I am using the online Ardiuno editor.
I downloaded the file from Gitgub but I cant find it in the Library Manager.

Its in my downloads but when I search for it it doesn’t show up.

What I am doing wrong?
Many thanks
David

Hi David,

Here are some screen shots of the online editor showing you how to import libraries. When you download them from github, the zip file has too many nested folders, so you should unzip the library, then find the actual parent folder of the library and copy it to a folder called 'Libraries' ... then zip the Libraries folder up and import it to the web editor.

Your folder hirearchy should look something like this inside the zip file:

-Libraries
|
--Specific Library Folder
       |
       |
       -------- Files and folders that make up the library

In the web IDE, click on Libraries on the left then click the little upload square as seen here

You will then see this window ... just follow the bouncing ball and it should work great :slight_smile:

The ESP8266WiFi is part of the ESP8266 core for Arduino. That library can only be used when directly programming the ESP8266. The Arduino Web Editor doesn't support 3rd party boards, so you can't use it to directly program ESP8266 boards. You need to use the regular desktop IDE if you want to directly program an ESP8266.

Please provide a detailed description of what you're trying to accomplish.