Newbie question about resistors

Hi guys, I bought an Uno to learn about electronics and I played it safe by buying a starter kit. It now seems like it was a pretty pathetic starter kit as resistors seem really important and it didn't contain any (I really know nothing about electrics). I'm going to buy an assortment kit and I got it down to 0.25 watt E6 resistors but I'm not sure about tolerances. I'm looking at one of these two: http://cpc.farnell.com/_/cfr0w4je006kil/resistor-kit-0-25w-5-e6/dp/RE03404

or

http://cpc.farnell.com/_/mf0w4ffe006kil/resistor-kit-0-25w-1-e6/dp/RE03418

I'm guessing higher tolerances are better for me but could someone please set me straight before I waste £20. And while I'm at it is there anything else I could do with (I'm guessing I should t be bothering with capacitors or anything yet). Also I work as an IT Technician and I get my hands on lots of broken old bits, is there anything that's particularly juicy that I should look out for?

Any help is appreciated, thanks.

You won't use anywhere near that quantity or range of resistors to get you started with your Uno.

A dozen or so 270Rs and maybe some 1.2Ks and 10Ks will do fine - and a couple or three of 74HC595 shift register ICs.

You'll also need some LED's.

Did your starter kit include breadboard and wires 'cos you'll need those too.

Ebay is great for assorted resistors, for 20£ u vould gets probably thousands(total), and you could split it up all ways, 220(led 5v), 480 (led 12v), 1k(useful for alot), 10k(a good pullup/down size), 22k,33k,220k,330k,1M,2.2M, some potentiometers(1k/10k/100k), dozens of leds(5mm,1w) , some lm317(good for constant current, adj voltage supply), 555 timer(dozens if not hundred of uses, I got 20 for 10cents a piece!), some diodes, (zeners, shoctky, regular), plenty of general purpose transistors(pnp, npn), maybe some mosfets all that probably less than that bundle