newbie question on a conditional statement (knob value)

Hello, I am a beginner and I am using grove shield. I post here because it looks like a bug or something missing on my side concerning programming. I just wanted to test a knob on analog A0 input and output to serial port only when the value changes… The code is this:

int knob = A0;
int test_value = 0.;
int knob_level = 0.;
void setup() {
Serial.begin(9600);
}
void loop() {
knob_level = analogRead(knob);
if (test_value != knob_level) {
int test_value = knob_level;
Serial.print("test_value = ");
Serial.println(test_value);
Serial.print("knob_level = ");
Serial.println(knob_level);
}
}

It just keep sending out values even if the knob is not moving (and so the new and old value are the same) it works only for ZERO… am i missing something?
Thanks a lot, sorry for the newbie question

Screen Shot 2015-04-30 at 21.48.44.png

Look at the scope of the two variables called "test_value",

I'm surprised it compiled with the extra periods. Are they int or float?
int test_value = 0.;
int knob_level = 0.;

I'm surprised it compiled with the extra periods.

int PI = 3.14159;

will compile. The value is interpreted as a float, and then truncated on assignment to the int.

Thanks AWOL for the reply but... wasn't correct to declare the variable in the global scope to make it accessible in the loop function? I checked the fundamentals of Arduino/C language and it seemed the good way to go... am i totally dumb...? (i fear the answer....)

Sorry for the int/float mismatching, it was part of some debugging i tried to do...

No, it wasn't correct.
If the new reading and the (global) old reading are not the same, you create a new "test_value" which is only in scope for the duration of the "if" compound block, so the global "test_value" never changes.

Thanks. I am quite lost (i was used only to BASIC and JavaScript before). Any clue on how avoid it? Thanks again...