Newbie question regarding interrupts

Hi,

This is my first post here… so hello and hope I have done this post properly, according to the posting rules.

I’m a newbie to Arduino and I’m an old assembler dude who is very familiar with 8080/85, Z80, 6800 and 6502 hardware/software, but I am keen to get into the Arduino.

I have a simple project that I am building to allow an Arduino to countdown in seconds, using the Timer1 interrupt, and display hours and minutes on 3 x 7 segment LED displays. At then end of the time period the relay is switched off. It will also have 2 push buttons. Button A will activate the unit, where it will commence counting down. If I hit Button A during the countdown it will set back to the start again. Button B is to stop counting immediately, and thereby de-activate the relay.

To make sure I got my interrupt timing working I am sending the values to my PC via serial print. Once I get that sorted I can then add the LED displays and button, with the subsequent code.

The code I am using is below, and I do apologise if it is rubbish, but I am still learning. My issue is, when the countdown goes to 0, I expect the serial print to say “0:0:0” for hours, minutes and seconds, respectively, followed by “Timer Expired” message. However, I don’t get this. I do if I comment out the “noInterrupts” line, but then the thing keeps counting down. Can someone point out what I have done wrong.

I am using Arduino 1.8.1 running on a PC with Windows10, and using an Arduino UNO.

The TimerOne library I got from an example in “Exploring the Arduino” book by Jeremy Blum.

regards
River

// Timer1 interrupt using seconds countdown
  // to derive hours and minutes

#include <TimerOne.h>

unsigned int start_count = 5;  // Initial count in seconds
  int flag = 0;                  // Interrupt flag
  int end_flag = 0;              // Flag for printing "Timer Expired" just once
  unsigned int hour;             // hours
  unsigned int minute;           // minutes