Newbie question

Hi there! I'm new to Arduino, and I've been tinkering away for the past couple of days. I have a project in mind, and I have come for some guidance if possible!!

My project is to add LEDs doing different things all at the same time to a model. I've learned how to do most of these things on their own (tbh, they're pretty simple things!), but I'm really lost on how to get all the different things to run together at the same time.

My plan is to have 7 LEDs chasing in a circle, one LED fading in and out, and 6 LEDs only slightly fading in and out, all at the same time.

Is this possible? Am I in over my head? Is there a well known guide for doing this?

Many thanks in advance!!!

Quite easy to do once you understand. Here are a couple of tutorials to look at:

BlinkWithoutDelay

Arduino Multiple Things

You will want to avoid the delay() function altogether.

“ all at the same time ”

Then you need to master this tutorial:

Demonstration code for several things at the same time.
http://forum.arduino.cc/index.php?topic=223286.0

“ Am I in over my head?”

Sink or swim, you need to let go of delay() and hang on to millis().

Wonderful stuff, thank you!

Here is a more advanced tutorial.

If you can learn to master it, you should be able to fly to the moon ;).

https://forum.arduino.cc/index.php?topic=525240.0

The biggest hurdle is probably that the Arduino Uno only has 6 PWM pins so you'll need a different Arduino or some additional hardware if you want to dim 7 LEDs.

but I'm really lost on how to get all the different things to run together at the same time.

My plan is to have 7 LEDs chasing in a circle, one LED fading in and out, and 6 LEDs only slightly fading in and out, all at the same time.

You CAN control 7 LEDs "at the same time" and if that's all you're doing there is really no trick to it.