newbie questions...

first of all, Hi,
I'm new to arduino so I would like to say hello. also i just got my arduino starter kit from hong kong yesterday, so if my questions seem idiotic i do apologies (I couldn't find a newbie section). I do have quite a few questions though.

I put together my first program (based on 'Blink'), which was ten LEDs in a row, each protected with a resistor displaying a binary number (0 - 1024), which would start at zero and increment up. the rate at which this happens can be adjusted with a potentiometer attached to the Duemilanove board. I also attached a potentiometer in series with the ground coming from the LEDs to act as a dimmer.

first, I'm interested in making a circuit which does the same thing, but doesn't need a digital output for each LED. ie can use just one digital output for all the LEDs. the reason for doing this would be to be able to have an indefinite number of LEDs in the binary string, (I'm thinking about making some art, maybe the number of seconds from my birth, or the Epoch timestamp in binary, perhaps with multicolored LEDs which change colour with the time of day, or with the light. it could go way into the negative powers of two, so the actual seconds were in the middle of the string, and be arranged in a square). any thoughts on how to do this? (i'm thinking about somehow making a hardware based logical circuit, which could be 'wound up' to the correct time).

secondly, I'm having difficulty finding where to upload projects to, so other people can look at them.

thirdly, I attached a piezoelectric buzzer in parallel with the resistor for least significant bit LED (so you could hear a clicking) and bust the LED obviously having the two in parallel lessened the effect. so, are LEDs, and other components really breakable? i don't have a great deal of info about the components I have, so does anyone know a good way of figuring out specs, and what will and wont work.