Newbie serial and power questions

Hello to the forum. Even though I am new to Arduino, I have a lifetime of experience in electronics (designed TTL, CMOS, 8080, Z80, PIC, etc. hardware) and programming (assembler, C, C++, C#.Net, etc.)

I have a Uno R3 and an Ethernet shield, and have successfully built and run the example LED flasher and the example Ethernet DHCP and static IP connectivity sketches. Everything works as expected.

I want to build a shield, probably with a PIC, that sits above the Ethernet shield, and connects to the outside world. This shield will send on/off data from several switches to an Ethernet client. This should be no problem. It also will control up to six servos using the Uno's PWM pins. Again, no problem.

The shield needs to send to the Ethernet client 8 bits of data its PIC receives over a serial pin. It would be convenient to send this to the Uno via a serial connection.

Question 1: Can I use pins 0 and 1 for the PIC on my shield to communicate with the Uno at TTL levels if I don't plug anything into the USB jack? The Ethernet shield doesn't use them, and the Uno schematic indicates this should be possible, but I'm not sure.

I'm confused about how the Uno's USB port and pins 0 and 1 are related. In a sketch, Serial.xxx() initializes and communicates via the USB port. Does the Serial class also manipulate pins 0 and 1 simultaneously? If so, that's great. I will never have anything plugged into the USB connector while this device is running, so can I then use pins 0 and 1 for a serial connection to my sketch? If the Serial class doesn't manipulate pins 0 and 1, what should I use instead?

Question 2: I want to plug a 9VDC power supply into my shield, which will provide regulated 5V to its PIC and other circuits, and a separate 5V to the servos. I want to feed this 9V to the Uno on the Power.Vin pin. The Uno will then provide 5V to its internal chips, and to the Ethernet shield.