Newbie With (Potential Pointer) Isssue?

Greetings, All!
My name is nick and I am new to Audrino and C++ in general. I am capable (for the most part) of deciphering how to adapt code to suite my learning needs but seem to have hit a hard place. If anyone can give me an explanation of what I am doing wrong, I would greatly appreciate it. right now if I just put the supplied examples on each nano and upload, they talk back and forth fine. But I want to modify the data sent to the other end.

I have (2) Nanos each connected to a NRF2401L+ transciever. I am using the Radiohead library located HERE

The library comes with two sets of code a Client and a Server. Here is the client.

// nrf24_client.pde
// -*- mode: C++ -*-
// Example sketch showing how to create a simple messageing client
// with the RH_NRF24 class. RH_NRF24 class does not provide for addressing or
// reliability, so you should only use RH_NRF24 if you do not need the higher
// level messaging abilities.
// It is designed to work with the other example nrf24_server.
// Tested on Uno with Sparkfun NRF25L01 module
// Tested on Anarduino Mini (http://www.anarduino.com/mini/) with RFM73 module
// Tested on Arduino Mega with Sparkfun WRL-00691 NRF25L01 module

#include <SPI.h>
#include <RH_NRF24.h>

// Singleton instance of the radio driver
RH_NRF24 nrf24;
// RH_NRF24 nrf24(8, 7); // use this to be electrically compatible with Mirf
// RH_NRF24 nrf24(8, 10);// For Leonardo, need explicit SS pin
// RH_NRF24 nrf24(8, 7); // For RFM73 on Anarduino Mini

void setup() 
{
  Serial.begin(9600);
  while (!Serial) 
    ; // wait for serial port to connect. Needed for Leonardo only
  if (!nrf24.init())
    Serial.println("init failed");
  // Defaults after init are 2.402 GHz (channel 2), 2Mbps, 0dBm
  if (!nrf24.setChannel(1))
    Serial.println("setChannel failed");
  if (!nrf24.setRF(RH_NRF24::DataRate2Mbps, RH_NRF24::TransmitPower0dBm))
    Serial.println("setRF failed");    
}

void loop()
{