Newibie questions about current, voltage, resistors

I'm a newbie and I do not have any electronics background. I googled about it different times but I really don't understand if my calculations are right.

Here's my issue:

I have a buzzer. The technical specifications are:

Rated Voltage: 3.5V Operating Voltage: 2V to 5V Rated Current: 30mA at 3.5V Coil Resistance 17 Ohm

If I apply a 5V voltage from an arduino pin to the buzzer I should or not use a resistor?

My understanding is

• Rated voltage is 3.5V
  • Rated current is 30mA then 30mA + 40mA (of the arduino PIN) = 70mA that is too high… Is that right?
  • Then 5V (supplied from arduino) - 3.5V (rated voltage) = 1.5V
  • According to the Ohm law R = 1.5 / 0.03 = 50 Omhs
  • Since the buzzer has a coil resistor of 17 Ohms I should use a 33 Ohms resistor

Am I right?

And what does operating voltage means? Since my buzzer has an operating voltage of 2 to 5 V does that means that I can also use it without a resistor?

And what if I do not have any rated current info but I only have infos about the rated voltage and the coil resistance? is there any way to measure the rated current of a component having only these two values?

40mA (of the arduino PIN)

Where has this come from?

40mA is the limit of current you should draw from a pin. It is not added to anything.

Since the buzzer has a coil resistor of 17 Ohms I should use a 33 Ohms resistor

No, 5V at 40mA will be drawn from a resistor of 5/0.04 = 125R you have 17R in the load so use a 125 - 17 = 108R As you can't get those go for the next highest up, 120R

But he wants only 30ma through the buzzer, so R=(5/.03) - 17 which is about 150 ohms.

Where has this come from?

I read it in a tutorial somewhere...

But he wants only 30ma through the buzzer, so R=(5/.03) - 17 which is about 150 ohms.

That make sense. But why you are using 5V if the buzzer specs says 30mA at 3.5V?

No wonder you are confused. 17 ohms at 3.4 volts equals 200ma.