Nixie tube scoreboard

Hello,
I was wondering if someone might be able to help me with a project I’d like to try and build myself. I’ve done a little research already but please understand I’ve never done anything like this before. I would like to make a Nixie tube scoreboard for my shuffleboard table, I do know it would probably be much easier to use an LCD display but I want this to be somewhat unique and have this project have an old turn of the century feel to it because the shuffleboard table i have is an original 1940 table that just finished restoring. My idea is to use Nixie tubes to display the score for two separate teams, which would require four Nixie tubes because while playing shuffleboard the goal is to get 21 points before the other team. To input the score I was thinking of using three buttons per team, one button to add points, one to subtract points and one to reset the score. Obviously that would require six total buttons or five buttons if the reset button can reset both scores. I’ve seen a ton of Arduino Nixie tube clock kits but I’m unsure if it would be easier to use one of those kits and try to rewrite the software and add the control buttons or would it be easier/cost effective to start from scratch? I’ve never done anything like this before so I’m a little overwhelmed where to even start and I would greatly appreciate any help. I’ve been trying to research this for a few days and I’m not sure where to go or even where to look. Thank you

The clock kit may well provide the hardware you need - nixies need an interface to the Arduino as well as a high voltage supply .
This provides some useful data
https://www.google.co.uk/amp/s/www.instructables.com/id/How-to-Control-a-Nixie-Tube-with-an-Arduino/%3Famp_page=true

It might be worth googling the clock aspect to get some code tips

Zippeay: