Nixie tubes too low brightness

Hello everyone,

I am working on an Arduino project involving nixie tubes and I have been stuck with a tube brightness problem for about 10 days. I would greatly appreciate any input on how to solve this issue. I apologize in advance in case I made some dumb mistake, I have some experience with Arduino projects and soldering circuits but I am no expert with electronics.

As i was saying, I am building a nixie clock using eight IN 18 nixie tubes and an Arduino Mega. The tubes are directly driven (no multiplexing, at least for now), each with a K155ID1 driver.

A 12 V power supply is used for both powering an Arduino Mega and as input for a high voltage DC-DC transformer (NCH6100HV). The voltage supply for the anodes ( U_pot ) can be modified through a potentiometer placed on the transformer. In my case I set 170 V before connecting the tubes. A 330 uF capacitor was placed between the 12 V and the ground between the power supply and the transformer. The anodes of the eight tubes are connected in parallel to the high voltage supply, each of the anodes connected through a 10 kohm resistor ( R_an ). The choice of supply voltage and resistors was made based on examples of similar clocks [1][2].

After some tests on a breadboard, I have soldered the electronic circuit using a few stripboards. Pretty much all the connections have been soldered and the tubes have been tested and observed to be working correctly: all digits are correctly displayed, the anode current is within the datasheet range [3] and the tube brightness is appropriate).