NKC Electronics Freeduino Serial v2.0

Hello, I am new to the Arduino and thusly this forum. I have purcahsed a Freeduino Serial v2.0 from NKC Electronics and after many failed attempts with the latest Arduino IDE (0022 at the time of this post) I finally realized that right on their website it states that version 0013 is required. I downloaded 0013 and things started to work right away.

My first question to the forum is does this mean I am stuck with 0013 for the life of this board/IC/Arduino or is there something I can or would need to upgrade in order to use versions other than 0013. A project I am working on requires 0017 or later and I am concerned that I may not be able to use this Arduino for my purpose. I am hoping that there is a way to upgrade whatever component on my Arduino to be compliant/compatible with versions later than 0013.

Thank you in advance for any help.

If you mean this board:

http://store.nkcelectronics.com/freeduino-serial-v20-board-kit-arduino-diecimila-compatib20.html

I've been using this board for around 3 years now and have had no problems running it on all versions of the Arduino IDE including the present V-22. You just have to select the proper board type and the proper comm port you are using and it will work fine.

Lefty

Thanks for the quick reply. Unfortunately for me 0013 is the only version I’ve been able to get working with my board. The comment on their page concerned me when I read that it requires 0013 but from your experience I am hopeful.

Did you have to change anything in boards.txt or anywhere else to get it to work or did you simply unzip it and it worked? If you just unzipped the program and used it I think I may have a different IC than you have as I’ve read that some ICs require parameters to be changed in some .txt files in order to get things working. I’ve also read some posts that say that the “code” needs to be changed I’m assuming on one of the ICs, specifically the ATmega328P in my case.