NMEA Library

Hello Everyone,

I am having a bit of trouble using the NMEA library, http://www.maartenlamers.com/nmea/
If I include the library in any sketch, I get the error below.

In file included from ------------------\Documents\arduino-0015\hardware\cores\arduino/WProgram.h:4,

–documents/arduino-0015/hardware/tools/avr/lib/gcc/…/…/avr/include/stdlib.h:111: error: expected unqualified-id before ‘int’

–documents/arduino-0015/hardware/tools/avr/lib/gcc/…/…/avr/include/stdlib.h:111: error: expected `)’ before ‘int’

–documents/arduino-0015/hardware/tools/avr/lib/gcc/…/…/avr/include/stdlib.h:111: error: expected `)’ before ‘int’

In file included from --Documents\arduino-0015\hardware\cores\arduino/WProgram.h:6,

I am pretty new to all this so I don’t know what to do,
This is the sketch I have used to demonstrate my point,

#include <nmea.h>
void setup()
{}
void loop()
{}

If anyone knows why this is happening or has any ideas of how to fix it please post!!!
Thanks Everyone!

Oh and I have tried on arduino IDE 15 & 16; on 16 I get the exact same error.

I haven't tried the library you've provided, but I have used TinyGPS with results, maybe you will to? http://arduiniana.org/libraries/TinyGPS

Yes I have tried that library, and it works, but the NMEA library has many extra features. Ones that I find very handy; for example, "distance to" and "course to". I think the error could be something wrong with the nmea.h file, does anyone know how i could fix this?

are you using the arduino mega? i'm not sure but i think it won't work on an duemilanove.

Any alternatives to tinygps , just for parsing lat/log? tks

Yes, I have tried it on the mega, and duemilanove. I have receive the same error no matter what comination of arduino 0015/ arduino 0016, and arduino mega/ arduino duemilanove.

In nmea.h, after including WConstans.h, add

undef abs

undef random