No constant IR lightbeam

Hi

I am fairly new to this whole topic and a (probably/hopefully) very simple problem is giving me a hard time:

I have this transmitter/receiver combination: http://www.ebay.de/itm/291011302050?_trksid=p2060778.m1438.l2649&ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT and use the following code:

#include <IRremote.h>

#define PIN_IR 3
#define PIN_DETECT 11
#define PIN_STATUS 13
unsigned long time;

IRsend irsend;
void setup()
{
  pinMode(PIN_DETECT, INPUT);
  pinMode(PIN_STATUS, OUTPUT);
  irsend.enableIROut(38);
  irsend.mark(0);
  Serial.begin(9600);
}

byte oldStatus;
void loop() {
  byte newStatus=digitalRead(PIN_DETECT);
  if (newStatus!=oldStatus)
  {
    digitalWrite(PIN_STATUS, newStatus);
    Serial.print("TimeStamp: ");
    time = millis();
    Serial.print(time);
    Serial.print(" / Status: ");
    Serial.println(newStatus);
    oldStatus=newStatus;
  }
}

But the control light on the receiver only flickers randomly and very low, giving the following output: (it is not moving, nothing is breaking the beam)

Timestamp: 8760 / Status: 0
Timestamp: 8761 / Status: 1
Timestamp: 9072 / Status: 0
Timestamp: 9072 / Status: 1
Timestamp: 9457 / Status: 0
Timestamp: 9457 / Status: 1
Timestamp: 9630 / Status: 0
Timestamp: 9631 / Status: 1
Timestamp: 9640 / Status: 0
Timestamp: 9673 / Status: 1
Timestamp: 9816 / Status: 0
Timestamp: 9817 / Status: 1

The sending control led is constantly on, the receiver is only slightly blinking. I tested the receiver with the receiving demo from the library and it works like a charm, so the issue is with the sending I guess.

As I said I really don’t have a clue but is it possible that the sender is already creating a 38khz signal itself? So I basically “double” it with the above code? But only putting the pin on HIGH doesn’t work either.

BTW if I move the receiver back and forth it’s giving me a constant red LED too on the receiver?!

Can somebody alter the code that the correct signal is being sent?

Thank you!!