Nomadness

Hi folks...

This is my first post here, and I'm new to the Arduino scene... although not to embedded development. In the '70s I designed custom industrial control systems and wrote a textbook about it, then in 1983 fled suburbia and pedaled 17,000 miles around the US on a computerized recumbent bicycle that eventually sported a handlebar chord keyboard, heads-up display, ultrasonic head mouse, ham radio, audio crossbar, and lots of other gizmology. (The bike was named BEHEMOTH - Big, Electronic, Human-Energized Machine... Only Too Heavy)

That led to a decade on the Microship project, with a multidrop network of FORTH nodes scattered around an amphibian pedal/solar/sail micro-trimaran... now idle and looking for a budding technomad, since I'm making the move to a 44-foot steel sailboat named Nomadness. Must be an age thing.

All these projects are visible at the Microship website (just discovered I can't do a live link on my first post, which is a sensible rule).

The reason I'm posting here, of course, is that I've made the move to Arduino (and love it). The boat has about 15 nodes communicating with an always-on Mac Mini reachable via EVDO and other pipes, providing a ship's server, data collection and archiving, extensive security/watch capability, integration with NMEA2000 instruments, and so on. Some of the Arduinos take care of simple supervisory data collection and monitoring, like the "Sewage node" currently flickering to life in the lab; others provide infrastructure services like audio/video crossbar switching and remote queries via handheld ham radio.

I'm blogging development at the Nomadness website, and find myself peeking in here frequently for solutions. I'm impressed... this was done right, and I'm glad I didn't get too far down the path with other recent embedded platforms before discovering Arduino.

Anyway, I just wanted to say hello... I'm sure I'll be popping in with tech questions as I get deeper into the project.