Non-pending pulseIn() function???

Hello:

I am looking to implement several ultrasonic sensors (3 to 5) and I cannot afford to wait on pulseIn() to return the time delay. In my implementation, the arena of interest to the robot is 12 x 8 feet. At 12 feet, the ultrasonic propagation time (out and back) is over 20ms. Is there a library, similar to Servo library, where non-pending equivalent to pulseIn() functions have been implemented?

Thanks for any suggestions or leads, -john

you should look into getting the sensors trigger an interrupt => think you should use the pinchangeinterrupt library to handle the receiving.

check - http://playground.arduino.cc/Main/PinChangeInt -

Rob:

Thanks for your fast reply. I will look into this library. I'm new to the Arduino platform and had not noticed this library. At first glance, I think I can integrate this into a densely packed service routine environment. -john (ServoHawk)

ServoHawk: Rob:

Thanks for your fast reply. I will look into this library. I'm new to the Arduino platform and had not noticed this library. At first glance, I think I can integrate this into a densely packed service routine environment. -john (ServoHawk)

Using pin interrupt is not a good method for ultrasonic sensors as sometimes you never get a ping echo and you end up waiting forever (worse than using pulseIn()).

Instead, consider using the NewPing library which is designed for multiple sensors. Successful projects have used the NewPing library with up to 15 sensors (and it can accommodate even more).

As a bonus, the author is SUPER cool to work with, offering tons of fast support ;-)

Tim

What exactly is a non-pending function?

I interpreted it as a non-blocking function (as pulseIn() is blocking)

dhenry: What exactly is a non-pending function?