Noob - For Loop with Arrays

Guy, i am a noob and am in the process of transferring a project for my home heating across from Picaxe with Basic to Arduino.

I have an Ethermega from Freetronics in Australia.

I am using Arduino 1.04.

I have my Picaxe and Arduino integrated through the use of I2c and this is working well - i have a DS1307 that the Arduino controls and passes time though i2c to the picaxe. The picaxe is passing back Integer based temperature measurements plus some PIn state information through 5 byte variables - all of this is working well.

My next step is to take those measurements from 4 distinct sensors and keep 4 running average - on the picaxe i do this by keeping a running tally of 10 readings for each sensor, and i have a subroutine for each measurement that essentially shuffles the newest measurement onto the top of the list and moves every reading down the list and then drops the oldest off.

I am trying to do this on the Arduino by have a single Function that i call and that i pass the following parameters to

1. ArrayName to manipulate
  2. Temp Value to add

And this function should then return the new average value in a global variable

I have put together the following code

//Build an Array and calculate the running average for the previous 10 temperature readings
//we want this to be generic for all the averages so try and pass the following to it when calling
// Array Name - which of the arrays are we recalculating, the Temp reading we are passing it
void CalculateAverageTemp(String ArrayName, int TempValueIn){

//essentially we want to take the value passed in and sanity check it - if OK - then shuffle all the existing values
//down and drop the last one

if (TempValueIn > 0 and TempValueIn < 255) // only run the code is the temp measurement are valid

{
for (int i=9; i >= 0; i--){
        Serial.print("Before ");
       Serial.print(TankTempArray[i]);
      TankTempArray[i] = TankTempArray[i-1];
      Serial.print(" After ");