*noob here* how to make a countdown timer with 12 horn

Hi I am very new to arduino but i would like to make a (waterproof)countdown timer for my local sailing club. I would like the following functions:

• countdown from 5 min
  • giving a 2 second horn blast at: 5 min, 4 min, 1 min and 0 min
  • buzzing (buzzer on arduino) 0,5 sec at 10 seconds to the min, buzzing every second
  • being able to change the starting time (for instance 3 min)
  • being able to sound the horn with a separate button (after the sequence, but if possible also during)
  • displaying the remaining time

I have the following supplies:

• arduino nano
  • 12v horn
  • 5v buzzer
  • 12v battery

What do i need to buy to make this project and can somebody help me with the code?
I think i need at least an lcd display and a relay but im sure im missing stuf.

I hope somebody can help me.
Cheers!

Go on Ebay and purchase one of the Arduino kits that include a LCD and learn how to program to use the LCD, switches, buzzer, etc. There are examples for all those devices.

How accurate does you timing need to be? You may need to use a real-time clock board.

Also, buy several Arduino Nano boards that do not have the pins already soldered in. You will want to wire directly in your final version in the enclosure. You do know how to solder, don't you?

Paul

Dear Paul_KD7HB,

Thanks for your reply. I just ordered 5 big buttons, a real time clock module, a TM1637 LED digital tube display and a second arduino nano.
However right now i don't have the time to learn the coding proces of arduino from scratch so i was wondering if there was an existing code that i can use for this/ if someone could help me. I know the basics of code but not enough for this project. Apart from coding my skill level in other hardware (soldering, woodwork, etc.) is high.

If you don't care to take the time to learn how to use what you have, then it is best to just buy your device.

Paul

Paul_KD7HB: