NOOB here trouble with repeatability: LED Dimmer

Hi all, have been working on this for quite some time now to no avail. Basically I am programming an Arduino to control the interior lights of a car. The functions I want to be able to perform are as follows:

• Door opens, dome light fades up over 3 seconds.

• Door closes, dome lights stay on for 20 seconds then fade off over 3 seconds.

• If the door is left open for more than 10 mins, i.e. the interior light is on for 10 mins the dome light turns off.

• If the door is closed and the dome light is in the period of which it is waiting for 20 seconds to fade off and the ignition is turned on the dome light automatically fades out.

This is more or less what I want the code to be able to do. I am running the Arduino as a state machine as that seemed easier to read the code and have it function properly. However after writing most of the code to what I thought was correct, I was having all sorts of repeatability issues. So I thought I would start again and see if I could get some help as now not even my simplest code to fade the light on is not repeatable.

The current circumstance is that if Pin 4 goes LOW, the led fades up correctly. Then if Pin 4 goes HIGH, the led turns off. But as soon as I try and fade the led up again by making Pin 4 LOW nothing happens. This is a very simplified version of what I want to be able to do, but if I cant even get this to work properly then I cannot proceed to the rest of the code.

I am very new to programming, hardware I have had lots of experience with, so please go easy on my messy code. As a note I am performing all my tests on the online simulator as I do not have an Arduino board yet.

Thanks

Code:

//LED FADER//

unsigned long interval=12; // the time we need to wait
unsigned long previousMillis=0;// millis() returns an unsigned long.
const int ledPin1 = 5;//Led that will be faded up
static int fadeValueA = 0;

void setup() {
 pinMode(ledPin1, OUTPUT);
}

void loop() {