Noob here..wanting to build a lava-type-lamp.

I took some programming classes in High school and college, but don't remember much now being 28...

So in college I just paid a guy $500 to design me a circuit board to make a solar powered wrist light that can also charge a phone.

Now I have an idea to build a special sustainable lamp that has a vase with chemicals above, and after reading about arduino think I can do it myself. Only problem is I have no idea about what parts I would need...or where to learn about all the different parts...etc..perhaps I should still hire a mechanical engineer but that would be after I have developed a prototype and perhaps get funding..so I still need a base arduino board to show my special lamp works to eventually get funded to mass produce it..

I was going to just buy the arduino starterkit and take it from there to learn, but they are all out of stock.

So I need some help...

Questions

1. If I buy a wifi arduino shield, is that like the main board but with a wifi added to it, or would I also need to buy a regular arduino board? I should probably just get the regular arduino board and a BLE shield, because I don't think I want it to be a smart house object just yet, due to the easy hackability and it will just be a prototype...

2. My lamp will be like a lava lamp, and have some science involved... with a fan, a light, an airpump, and fluctuating chemical levels in the vase above, but this can be monitored with a sensor ..but I did notice sensor kits here, but should I just specifically research all the parts I need (probably again hire an engineer who knows parts) to test it on arduino or just go out and hire the engineer anyways, since I do not know about calculating power required for operating the arduino and if I would need a heat source(to maintain the vase above at a specific temperature) will effect the arduino board itself or operating life over at least a year or how long..