noob here!

Hey everybody! I’m new to programming and fairly new to electronics, but I’m learning quick!

I took a trip to local Barnes and Noble today and picked up a book called, Arduino Cookbook, by Michael Margolis. It’s a thick book and is full of excellent information for setting up and programming your Arduino.

While reading I came across this code:

// blink an LED the number of times givein in the count parameter
void blink2(int count)
{
while(count > 0) //repeat until count is no longer greather than zero
{
digitalWrite(13,HIGH);
delay(500);
digitalWrite(13,LOW);
delay(500);
count = count -1; //decrement count

}
}

That gives me a compiler error (no surprise to me)
core.a(main.cpp.o): In function main': C:\Users\Steve\Desktop\arduino-0022\arduino-0022\hardware\arduino\cores\arduino/main.cpp:7: undefined reference to setup’
C:\Users\Steve\Desktop\arduino-0022\arduino-0022\hardware\arduino\cores\arduino/main.cpp:10: undefined reference to `loop’

So I started to tinker with the code, and I got to work… But then I wanted to do a “count up” and “count down”,

So I changed the code so that when the count is going in one direction the LED blinks faster and then slower when going in the other direction. This bit of code does that…

int zero = 0;
int five = 5;

void setup(){
pinMode(13, OUTPUT);
}

void loop(){

while(zero < five)
{
digitalWrite(13, HIGH);
delay(500);
digitalWrite(13, LOW);
delay(300);
zero = zero +1;
}
while(five = five)
{
digitalWrite(13, HIGH);
delay(1500);
digitalWrite(13, LOW);
delay(150);
five = five -1;
}
}

However, I want the count to go from it’s minimum of zero to five, then back down to zero at a different LED flashing speed, then back up to five at it’s faster speed, then back to zero, just a continual loop of zero to five at one flashing speed, five to zero at a slower flashing speed, then back up, then back down, etc.