Noob looking for guidance with Halloween project hardware selection

Hello all!

I hope someone here will be able to get me started in the right direction. I'm a noob with Arduino and electronics in general, however I am an adult who is willing to learn on my own. I am hoping to do a couple projects for Halloween using an Arduino and I found several examples of such projects online, so I believe they are both possible and reasonably simple to do. At this point, I'm just looking for some general guidance, mostly concerning can/should I even try such a project, and if yes then what hardware would be most appropriate? I'm not asking for someone to design my project or write my code for me, I'm just looking for a little nudge in the right direction to figure out what I must research, learn, and buy.

Here's project idea #1. "Motion Tracking Skull" I would like to have some kind of light plastic skull or fake head of some kind, I would like to have this head automatically rotate left/right and "track" an unsuspecting trick or treater as they walk by. To do this, I know I need some kind of proximity sensor as well as a servo of some kind (right?). I am familiar with two kinds of proximity sensors for Arduino, the HC-SR04 Ultrasonics, and the HC-SR501 IR sensors. Would one be more appropriate for my needs than the other? Would there be something else to consider?

I have a very small SG90 servo now, and although it might work to move a very light skull, I think it would be too small. What is the next size up in servos from this one? I'd like it to be a quiet and smooth moving as possible.

With all my projects, I'd like to include spooky sound effects. This does not have to be premium sound, but I'd like more punch than a tiny clock radio speaker or similar. I have a couple pairs of old desktop computer speakers. What would be an easy way to get the Arduino able to output sound to these kids of speakers?