Noob millis() question

Hi everyone,

I'm brand new to this whole game, but loving it so far the first day. I've got a question though and need a little bit of help here. Im running an arduino uno, and trying to get a simple pushbutton switch to control an LED in a toggleswitch method. Since the switch is Normally Open, I have a simple sketch that keeps the LED on and off after the button is hit. I've done this two ways, one by remembering the preceding digitalRead and only toggling the LED if there was a change, and the other way was by toggling the LED if it had been more than a second since the last hit. Both methods work, however, as time continues, the time method becomes less and less reliable. After about 2 minutes of the program running, you have to push the button several times before the light will actually turn on and off. I assumed it was because the millis() number was getting so big that the simple subtraction was taking too long.

I'm just trying to learn the system better so any info would be helpful. Here are the sketches:

TIME:

int buttonPin = 13;
int ledPin = 7;
int val = 0;
int toggleTime = 0;
int ledState = 0;

void setup() {                

Serial.begin(9600);
  pinMode(buttonPin, INPUT);     
  pinMode(ledPin,OUTPUT);
}

void loop(){
  val = digitalRead(buttonPin);
  if(val && (millis() - toggleTime) > 1000){
    toggleTime = millis();

if(ledState == 0){
      ledState = 1; 
    }else{
      ledState = 0;
    }
    digitalWrite(ledPin,ledState);

}
}

SIMPLER BETTER METHOD:

int buttonPin = 13;
int ledPin = 7;
int val = 0;
int toggleState = 0;
int ledState = 0;

void setup() {                

Serial.begin(9600);
  pinMode(buttonPin, INPUT);     
  pinMode(ledPin,OUTPUT);
}

void loop(){
  val = digitalRead(buttonPin);
  if(val && !toggleState){

if(ledState == 0){
      ledState = 1; 
    }else{
      ledState = 0;
    }
    digitalWrite(ledPin,ledState);
  }
  toggleState = val;
}