Noob needs help with IR sensors

Hi all, I'm a noob to hardware programming and recently I'm starting a research project on high-level distributed programming in embedded devices. I'm trying to build a prototype system in Arduino and am in need of some pointers to get started. Essentially, I want to make a prototype consisting of an array of Arduino units that communicates with each other to orchestrate certain coordinated functionalities. Each Arduino unit should have between 2-4 contactless, line-of-sight communication medium and can only communicate with neighboring Arduino units within range of these communication medium. These communication channels must be 'hot swappable', in that we can shuffle the position/arrangements of the Arduino units and each should still function as they are programmed to do (with acceptable degrees of error), based on the state of their new neighboring Arduino units (or lack of). For now, I'm still fuzzy on what exactly I want them to do (perhaps, each does some light flickering, or crazy motor actuation, lol.. I know, sounds lame.. =P), but I'm focusing on zeroing down on the nature of these communication channels. For now, I'm fixated on IR emitters and receivers, but do you think this is a good idea, or if there are options which suit the above specifications better? Specific to IR, do you know of any reliable Arduino IR protocol libraries out there? Also, do you know if and how I can rig 2-4 pairs of IR emitters and receivers to a Arduino Uno, and what other peripherals I might need for this to work? Many thanks all!

I'm a noob to hardware programming

So you want to start with a project that you admit:-

I'm still fuzzy on what exactly I want them to do

Think about it, what makes you think you stand a chance of success. Even the best engineer in the world can't achieve anything while they are fuzzy on what they want to do. This is a complex and advanced project you are wanting to do.