Noob Problem :( Plz help

Hi gyus, I am new to the Arduino and embedded world. I am trying to get the exmaple sketch to work but its not working corretcly... The exmaple sketch is the one that reads a button and writes HIGH or LOW to hyperterminal. THe problem is that I have nothing connected to the board (except usb of coarse) but Arduino constantly writes random HIGHs and LOWs to the serial port:o :'( :'( :-[

I tried using the whole setup with a button and LED but same issue!!! Did I get a bad board? (BTW other sketched that read from digital and then write behave spuriously also :'()

Thanks in advance guys..

Figured it out :-[
It should randomly indicate a HIGH or LOW when nothing connected to it since it’ll be floating… I thought Arduino had pulldowns on the board… I guess im wrong…

The ATmega has internal pullups, but they are not enabled by default.

-j

The ATmega has internal pullups, but they are not enabled by default.

Can I enable the pullups for specific digital Pins (10-13) from my own library code? (I seem to have a problem with an SPI ChipSelect Line after reseting the board for uploads)

Eberhard

Check the ATmega manual for details, but I [u]think[/u] if you set the pin as an input, then write a 1 to it, it enables the pullup.

-j

Thanks for the hint!

Check the ATmega manual for details, but I [u]think[/u] if you set the pin as an input, then write a 1 to it, it enables the pullup.

I checked it with the manual and you are right. But the internal pull-ups get disabled when the pin is later used as an output again. Since I use the pin in question only as an output in SPI code, the internal pull-ups won't work. I will add an external pull-up resistor to my hardware then.

Thanks again Eberhard

Since I use the pin in question only as an output in SPI code, the internal pull-ups won't work.