Noob Question: SainSmart MPU6050 - i2c_scanner "No I2C devices found"

Foreword: I'm totally new to arduino, and circuitry in general, other than college level physics about 15 years ago....

...but I'm giving it a shot.

I basically came into this with a specific project in mind - building a gps laptimer / data logger.

Got the adafruit Ultimate GPS shield to work, and was able to log gps data to the SD card.

But, when I tried to hook up the accelerometer I bought, I got nothing.

The sketch "MPU6050_DMP6" said it coudn't connect to the device...

Did a little digging and found the I2C scanner but get this message:

No I2C devices found

I'm a fairly quick study, but I'm somewhat connecting wires per the directions without knowing what I'm actually doing.

I have an Uno
My connections:

VCC > 3.3v (have also tried 5v)
GND > GND
SCL > A5
SDA > A4 (have also tried flipping SCL/SDA between A4/A5 in case I had it backwards)
INT > Digital 2

I removed the GPS shield, in case there was some sort of issue using both at once, that didn't work.

I also tried connecting ADO to Ground and then 5v and 3.3v, based on something I saw on a similar thread.

I believe I have tried all combinations of the different things I've mentioned above while I2C scanner was running to see if I could stumble on something.

I've seen talk of "step up" resistors, some people saying 5v would fry the MPU6050, others saying I2C scanner wouldn't work unless you were hooked up to 5v, and a lot of other confusing stuff....

I don't think I have another I2C device to try out, unless one came with this:

Arduino Uno Ultimate Starter Kit + LCD Module

Hoping someone can help me out here, and talk to me like I'm a 5 year old when they do it...

:slight_smile:

Can anybody provide any insight here?

But, when I tried to hook up the accelerometer I bought, I got nothing.

We need to know which one you bought because some have regulators on board and others don't. Can you provide a link to it.

Grumpy_Mike: