Noob uses EEG brain waves to trigger keystrokes

Hello, I am pretty new to this, so I might have something simple wrong with my sketch and I would appreciate any help I can get.

I have a Leonardo reading my brain meditation values on a scale of 0 to 100 with an EEG chip, and I’m wanting values greater than 95 to trigger a “V” keypress and values under 25 to trigger “W” and hold it for two seconds.

Here is what I have so far

#include <Keyboard.h>
#include <Brain.h>
Brain brain(Serial1);
long interval = 500; 
long previousMillis = 0; 
int medValue;
uint8_t buf[8] = { 0 };
void setup() {
Serial.begin(9600);
Serial1.begin(9600);
randomSeed(analogRead(0));
delay(2000);
}
void loop() {
if (brain.update()) {
Serial.println(brain.readCSV());
medValue = brain.readMeditation();
}
if(brain.readSignalQuality() == 0) {
if (medValue > 25) {
   Keyboard.print('w');  // send a 'w' to the computer via Keyboard HID
   delay(1000);  // delay so there aren't a kajillion w's
if (medValue < 100) {
   Keyboard.print('v');  // send a 'w' to the computer via Keyboard HID
   delay(1000);  // delay so there aren't a kajillion w's
}
}
}
}

It reads my meditation values just fine and I can see the values in serial monitor no problem, but once the meditation value goes under 25 or over 95 and triggers a keystroke, the serial monitor seems to freeze (or simply stop reading the brain wave values) and the keystroke just repeats over and over and over with the 1000ms delay.

Can anybody help? I feel like for someone experienced, this is probably a pretty simple fix. I don’t know, but any help is much appreciated!!

Here is a sketch a guy used that is very similar to what I’m trying to do, except he used the meditation value to send an IR code.

#include <IRremote.h>
#include <IRremoteInt.h>
#include <Brain.h>
IRsend irsend;
Brain brain(Serial);
const int ledPin = 3; 
long interval = 500; 
long previousMillis = 0;
int ledState = LOW; 
int medValue;
void setup() {
 // Set up the LED pin.